Winners of the 2017 Young Scientist Seminars Competition: Tyler Allen, Katie Thompson-Peer, Eleanor Bath, and Aaron Pomerantz.

The Lasker Foundation is proud to partner with iBiology in support of the Young Scientist Seminars (YSS), an annual competition that encourages early-career scientists to share their their research to the public through storytelling, analogies, and visuals.

The four winners, Tyler Allen (North Carolina State University), Eleanor Bath (Oxford University), Aaron Pomerantz (University of California, Berkeley) and Katie Thompson-Peer (University of California, San Francisco), were selected from a pool of accomplished young scientists from around the world. They attended a science communication workshop led by the Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science at iBiology’s headquarters at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) in the spring of 2017. During the workshop, the winners took part in improvisational theater exercises, group breakout sessions and individual coaching. They learned to distill their message, use vivid analogies, and apply storytelling techniques into their talks, which they recorded in a green screen studio at the end of the week.

The 2017 winners' videos are below.

Tyler Allen: How circulating stem cells exit blood vessels

Eleanor Bath: Understanding female aggression in fruit flies

Aaron Pomerantz: Decoding butterfly color

Katie Thompson-Peer: Neuronal regeneration after dendrite injury