2000 Lasker Awards

Aaron Ciechanover, Avram Hershko, Alexander Varshavsky

For the discovery and recognition of the broad significance of the ubiquitin system of regulated protein degradation, a fundamental process that influences vital cellular events, including the cell cycle, malignant transformation, and responses to inflammation and immunity. Read about the achievement

Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton

For the discovery of the virus that causes hepatitis C and the development of screening methods that reduced the risk of blood transfusion-associated hepatitis in the U.S. from 30% in 1970 to virtually zero in 2000. Read about the achievement

For 50 years of brilliant creativity in biomedical science — exemplified by his legendary work on the genetic code; his daring introduction of the roundworm Caenorhabditis elegans as a system for tracing the birth and death of every cell in a living animal; his rational voice in the debate on recombinant DNA; and his trenchant wit.

Harold P. Freeman

For enlightening scientists and the public about the relationship between race, poverty, and cancer. Read about the achievement

Betty Ford

For using her leadership and prestige to bring about lasting progress in research, medicine, and health aimed at alcohol and drug addiction. Read about the achievement

Science Times of The New York Times

For sustained, comprehensive, and high-quality coverage about science, disease, and human health. Read about the achievement

John Edward Porter

For wise and perceptive leadership on behalf of medical research funding and a deep commitment to strengthening the science enterprise. Read about the achievement

David Mahoney

For visionary leadership in educating the public and the donor community about the importance of brain research, and for directing funds for the support of neuroscience. Read about the achievement

Opening remarks by Joseph Goldstein 

Michael Houghton, Harvey Alter, Aaron Ciechanover, Joseph Goldstein, Sydney Brenner, Alexander Varshavsky, Avram Hershko

This year's Lasker Awards are a tribute to the complex sociology of modern science. The Basic Award is given to three scientists—one born in Hungary, one born in Israel, and one born in Russia. Their monumental discovery highlights the international scope and collaborative nature of science. The Clinical Award honors a scientist from a company, Chiron Corp., and a scientist from a federal research institute, the NIH, for their discovery of the hepatitis C virus and its elimination from the blood supply. This award illustrates the increasing importance of collaboration between the Biotechnology Industry and the traditional research enterprise. This is the first time that a Lasker prize has recognized the Biotechnology Industry. The Special Achievement Award is given to a scientist whom many believe to be the most influential biologist of the last five decades. This award illustrates the role of unrestrained creativity in driving scientific discovery.

So today, we celebrate collaboration, biotechnology, and creativity. Behind each award is a wonderful story that you will soon hear about.



2000 Lasker Medical Research Awards Jury

Front Row, left to rightIra Herskowitz, University of California School of Medicine ● Shirley Tilghman, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Princeton University ● Eric Kandel, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons ● Joseph Goldstein, Chair of the Jury, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center ● Michael DeBakey, Chair Emeritus of the Jury, Baylor College of Medicine ● Michael Brown, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center ● Mary Ellen Avery, Harvard Medical School ● Paul Nurse, Imperial Cancer Research Fund

Second Row, left to right: William Paul, National Institutes of Health ● Thomas Stossel, Brigham & Women's Hospital ●  J. Michael Bishop, University of California School of Medicine ● Stuart Orkin, Harvard Medical School ●  Alfred Gilman, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center ●  Michael Welsh, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of Iowa ● Bruce Stillman, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Third Row, left to right: Leon Rosenberg, Princeton University ● Stuart Kornfeld, Washington University School of Medicine ● Thomas Maniatis, Harvard University ● Martin Raff, University College London ●  Don Wiley, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Harvard University ● Günter Blobel, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, The Rockefeller University

Not pictured: Denis Baylor, Stanford University School of Medicine ● Gerald Fink, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research ● Philippa Marrack, Howard Hughes Medical Center, National Jewish Center ● Charles Sherr, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital ● Craig Thompson, The University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center 

Mary Woodard Lasker Public Service Awards Selection Committee

Daniel Koshland, Jr., Chair of the Selection Committee, University of California, Berkeley ● Mrs. William McCormick Blair, Jr., Lasker Foundation Board of Directors (Non-Voting Member of the Selection Committee) ● Nancy Brinker, Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation ● Robin Chandler Duke, Population Action International ● Christine Gorman, TIME ● Connie Mack, United States Senate ● Ellis Rubinstein, Science ● Kenneth Shine, National Academy of Sciences ● Alfred Sommer, The Johns Hopkins University ● Samuel Their, Partners HealthCare System, Inc.

2000 Lasker Award Ceremony

John Edward Porter, Daniel Koshland, James Fordyce