1991 Lasker Awards

Edward B. Lewis

For fundamental research on the Bithorax Complex, which established the role of homeotic genes in the development of cell patterns and provided a foundation for current studies of embryonic development. Read about the achievement

Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard 

For charting new paths in developmental biology through investigations that led to the discovery of nearly all genes responsible for organizing basic body patterns. Read about the achievement

Yuet Wai Kan

For pioneering the use of recombinant DNA technology for diagnosing human genetic diseases, including the hemoglobinopathies. Read about the achievement

Robin Chandler Duke

For dedicated efforts to enhance the lives of the worldwide community through family planning and population control. Read about the achievement

Thomas P. O'Neill Jr.

For his tireless dedication to increasing our nation's commitment to biomedical research, and a lifetime of public advocacy for the disadvantaged. Read about the achievement


1991 Albert Lasker Medical Research Awards Jury

First Row, left to right: James Fordyce, Treasurer and Secretary, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Mrs. William McCormick Blair, Jr., Vice President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Jordan Gutterman, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Executive Vice President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Mary Lasker, President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Michael DeBakey, Chairof the Jury, Baylor College of Medicine  Maxine Singer, Carnegie Institution of Washington  Edwin Whitehead, Director Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury)

Second Row, left to right: Arno G. Motulsky, University of Washington School of Medicine  Philip Leder, Harvard Medical School ● Robert Glaser, Lucille P. Markey Charitable Trust  Paul Berg, Stanford University School of Medicine  Herbert Pardes, Columbia University  Myron Essex, Harvard School of Public Health  Thomas Waldmann, National Institutes of Health  Derek Denton, University of Melbourne

Third Row, left to right: Isadore Rosenfeld, New York Hospital — Cornell Medical Center  Fred Plum, New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center  Donald Brown, Carnegie Institution of Washington  James Watson, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory ● David Kipnis, Washington University School of Medicine  Edgar Haber, Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceutical Research Institute  Donald Seldin, UT Southwestern Medical Center  J. Michael Bishop, University of California School of Medicine  Torsten Wiesel, The Rockefeller University