1985 Lasker Awards

Michael S. Brown, Joseph L. Goldstein

For the discovery of the basic mechanisms controlling cholesterol metabolism, opening the way to a new pharmacologic approach to the treatment of coronary heart disease, the leading cause of death in the Western world. Read about the achievement

Bernard Fisher

For shaping the character of modern breast cancer treatment, thus lengthening and enriching the lives of women suffering from this disease. Read about the achievement

Ann Landers-Eppie Lederer

For respected advice and practical translations of authoritative medical opinion and her tireless commitment to the health and well-being of the American people. Read about the achievement

Lane W. Adams

For the extraordinary management skills, integrity and vision with which he has expanded the American Cancer Society into the major volunteer force in the battle against cancer. Read about the achievement


1985 Lasker Medical Research Awards Jury

First Row, left to right: James Fordyce, Treasurer and Secretary, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Alice Fordyce, Executive Vice President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● K. Sune Bergström, The Nobel Foundation ● Mary Lasker, President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Michael DeBakey, Chair of the Jury, Baylor College of Medicine ● Mrs. William McCormick Blair, Jr., Vice President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Jordan Gutterman, University of Texas MD Anderson Hospital and Cancer Center

Second Row, left to right: Antonio Gotto, Jr., Baylor College of Medicine ● Ruth Kirschstein, National Institute of General Medical Sciences, NIH ● Isadore Rosenfeld, New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center ● James Wyngaarden, National Institutes of Health ● Theodore Cooper, The Upjohn Company ● Mathilde Krim, Sloan-Kettering Institute ● Vincent DeVita, National Institutes of Health

Third Row, left to right: Richard Krause, Emory University School of Medicine ● Stanley Cohen, Stanford University School of Medicine ● Derek Denton, University of Melbourne ● Daniel Nathans, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine ● Donald Brown, Carnegie Institution of Washington ● Michael Czech, University of Massachusetts Medical Center

Fourth Row, left to right: Murray Goldstein, National Institutes of Health ● Anthony Fauci, National Institutes of Health ● Herbert Pardes, New York State Psychiatric Institute ● Steven Rosenberg, National Institutes of Health ● William A. Haseltine, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Not pictured: Samuel Hellman, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center ● Howard Rusk, Juror Emeritus, New York University Medical Center

1985 Lasker Award Ceremony

Left to right: Michael Brown, Joseph Goldstein, Eppie Lederer (Ann Landers), Mary Lasker, Bernard Fisher