1984 Lasker Awards

Michael Potter

For fundamental research into the genetics of immunoglobulin molecules, paving the way for the development of hybridomas. Read about the achievement

Georges J. F. Köhler, César Milstein

For creating the first hybridomas, a powerful new scientific tool for producing monoclonal antibodies. Read about the achievement

Paul C. Lauterbur

For theoretical and technical contributions that made possible a new form of medical imaging, based on nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR). Read about the achievement

Henry J. Heimlich

For developing the Heimlich Maneuver, a simple and practical technique for the prevention of death from choking which has saved thousands of lives. Read about the achievement


1984 Albert Lasker Medical Research Jury

First Row, left to right: Mrs. William McCormick Blair, Jr., Vice President Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Mathilde Krim, Sloan-Kettering Institute ● James Fordyce, Treasurer and Secretary, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Mary Lasker, President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Michael DeBakey, Chair of the Jury, Baylor College of Medicine ● Alice Fordyce, Executive Vice President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Joan Steitz, Yale University School of Medicine

Second Row, left to right: Timothy O'Connor, Roswell Park Memorial Institute ● Ruth Kirschstein, National Institutes of Health ● Jordan Gutterman, MD Anderson Hospital ● Isadore Rosenfeld, New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center ● Antonio Gotto, Jr., Baylor College of Medicine ● James Wyngaarden, National Institutes of Health ● David Baltimore, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Third Row, left to right: Robert Butler, Mount Sinai Medical Center ● Richard Krause, National Institutes of Health ● Fred Plum, New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center ● Samuel Hellman, Memorial Hospital ● Murray Goldstein, National Institutes of Health ● K. Sune Bergström, Nobel Foundation ● Theodore Cooper, The Upjohn Company ● Derek Denton, University of Melbourne

Fourth Row, left to right: Peter Fischinger, National Institutes of Health ● Myron Essex, Harvard University School of Public Health ● Herbert Pardes, New York State Psychiatric Institute ● Stanley Cohen, Stanford University School of Medicine ● Patrick Cahill, New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center ● Alexander Margulis, University of California School of Medicine ● Paul Berg, Stanford University School of Medicine

Not pictured: Dorothy Krieger, Mt. Sinai Medical Center  ● Howard Rusk, New York University Medical Center, Juror Emeritus