1976 Lasker Awards

Raymond P. Ahlquist

For advancing the concept of alpha and beta adrenergic receptors, which opened the door to the development of propranolol. Read about the achievement

J. W. Black 

For the development of propranolol as a major treatment of heart disease. Read about the achievement

World Health Organization

For its historic achievement in the practical eradication of smallpox from the Earth. Read about the achievement


1976 Albert Lasker Medical Research Awards Jury

First Row, left to right: Vincent DeVita, Jr., National Institutes of Health ● Mrs. William McCormick Blair, Jr., Director, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Frank Rauscher, Jr., National Institutes of Health ● Mary Lasker, President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Michael DeBakey, Chair of the Jury, Baylor College of Medicine ● Alice Fordyce, Assistant to the President, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (Non-Voting Member of the Jury) ● Theodore Cooper, Department of Health, Education and Welfare

Second Row, left to right: Bradley Straatsma, Jules Stein Eye Insititute ● James Holland, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine ●  Samuel Wells, Jr., Duke University Medical Center ● Isadore Rosenfeld, New York Hospital — Cornell Medical Center ● Fred Plum, New York Hospital — Cornell Medical Center ● Stuart Bondurant, Union University ● Antonio Gotto, Jr., National Research and Demonstration Center The Methodist Hospital, Houston ● A. Edward Maumenee, Johns Hopkins Hospital

Third Row, left to right: Griff Ross, National Institutes of Health ● Joseph Rall, National Institutes of Health ● Donald Tower, National Institutes of Health ● Timothy O'Connor, Argonne National Laboratory ● E.M. Papper, University of Miami School of Medicine ● Dorothy Krieger, Mt. Sinai Medical Center ●  Walter Riker, Cornell University Medical College ● Richard Krause, National Institutes of Health

Not pictured: Paul Marks, Columbia University ● Howard Rusk, Institute of Rehabilitation Medicine