1950 Lasker Awards

George Wells Beadle

For contributions to the understanding of the genetic control of metabolic processes. Read about the achievement

George Papanicolaou

For outstanding contributions to the early diagnosis of cancer of the cervix through cytological methods (the Pap smear). Read about the achievement

Eugene L. Bishop

For original and meritorious accomplishments in public health administration. Read about the achievement


Ernest Stebbins, Johns Hopkins University, Chair of the Jury

Gaylord Anderson, University of Minnesota ● Leona Baumgartner, New York Foundation ● Francis Blake, Yale University Medical School ● Donald Fraser, University of Toronto● William McD. Hammon, University of Pittsburgh ● T. Duckett Jones, Helen Hay Whitney Foundation ● Robert Loeb, Columbia University ● Hugh Morgan, Vanderbilt University ● Roy Morton, Oak Ridge National Laboratory ● Cornelius Rhoads, Memorial Hospital ● Leonard Scheele, Warner-Chilcott Laboratories ● Marion Sheahan, National Committee for Improvement of Nursing Service