Albert Lasker
Basic Medical Research Award

Vincent du Vigneaud

For his basic studies of transmethylation as essential to animal nutrition; for his contributions to the structure and synthesis of biotin and penicillin. (More >)

Selman Waksman and René Dubos

Joint award for their achievement in studies of the antibiotic properties of soil bacteria; Dr. Waksman was also cited for his discovery of streptomycin. (More >)

Vincent du Vigneaud Selman Waksman René Dubos